Dosing Manganese(II) chloride tetrahydrate

JBNY

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can we talk about Manganese dosing and creating a solution that we can dose in our aquariums long term?

A number of people keeping SPS have been experimenting with dosing Manganese in our tanks. I have been mixing Manganese Chloride and dosing that for almost 5 months, at this point I am dosing 0.0008 mg/l daily. I have still yet to find Mn in any ICP tests that I have done, so I am beginning to think that the manganese that I am using, Manganese(II) chloride tetrahydrate, is not as effective as it could be. Randy, you had mention that when mixing it with fresh water the solution will be sensitive to O2 (which can cause oxidation and subsequent precipitation of MnO2), so it should be keept tightly closed.

So my question is there a way I can chelate the Manganese so that is will stay in solution till I need it? Preferably I would like to make a solution that I can put in a dosing container for a month or more and dose automatically daily.

I had tried to use sodium citrate to mix with the Manganese. I made a 100ml 0.5 Mole Mn stock solution that I was transferring 6ml to 1L to make a dosing solution, but I kept getting crystals in the stock manganese solution after about 6 hours, by 24 hours there was a significant amount of crystallization in the jar.

So what else can I try?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I actually do not know if chelated manganese is any more (or less) resistant to oxidation than is unchelated manganese.

How much are you dosing relative to the limit of detection of the ICP?

OP
OP
JBNY

JBNY

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am dosing 0.0006 mg/l daily. How long do you think I can have just the Manganese Chloride out in a doser before I need to be concerned about oxidation?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0