Dosing Nitrate to Lower Phosphate

SoCalVictor

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I have historically struggled to keep phosphate below 0.15ppm (Hanna) even running HC GFO through a reactor. My nitrate usually measures around 1ppm (Salifert).

A few days ago, my phosphate was measuring 0.22ppm and my glass had algae, which is usually my indication to change out my GFO. For whatever reason, my HC GFO only lasts about a 7 days. I've been running GFO for about 5 months now and prior, my phosphate was very high, above the Hanna threshold. I had slowly brought it down using GFO. My hope is that my rock and substrate have released most of the bound phosphate but I can't be certain.

This time I tried to dose (on 2/15) a small amount of nitrate, using Seachem's Flourish Nitrogen product and did not change out the GFO. Tonight (about 36 hours later) I measured my GFO, and it's at 0.1ppm. Nitrate is still at 1ppm.

Am I correct to assume that the nitrate dosing brought down the Phosphate level?

thanks in advance,
Victor

Lasse

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For me - this indicate a nitrogen depleted tank. When adding NO3 - you promote some growth (corals, algae or other organisms that use photosynthesis) 1 ppm with salifert can be 0 nitrate if your nitrite hit 0.02 mg/L. IMO a rather common concentration in established tanks.

Wait some days and see whats happen.

Sincerely Lasse

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You are also measuring phosphate days later than the first measurement. Many folks find ups and downs of phosphate if they measure multiple times a day, so it might be an N deficiency that you reduced with the dosing, or it might just be random variation and/or test error (whatever is driving the variable results that others report in a single day)..

OP
OP
S

SoCalVictor

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0