Dosing Seachem Reef Fusion, high Mag

jasonrusso

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been dosing the Seachem Reef Fusion for a few months now. I recently tested the Mag and it was a bit high. It took 0.90 ml on the Red Sea test to turn blue. I did it 2 times to confirm. The scale stops at 0.08 (1600ppm) but it appears that every 0.1 ml is 20ppm so I would guess that my level is 1800ppm.

Now, Reef Fusion part 1 has magnesium and calcium (along with other trace elements), and Reef Fusion 2 is the alk. My calcium is fine at 420-430 ppm, Alk is a bit high at 10 (I changed the dosing schedule to get it back to mid 8's).

Is 1800ppm going to hurt anything? I've read you can shock oysters with mag but that is at levels of 8000ppm. My snails (nerite and nassarius) are all fine. I did recently lose my pistol shrimp and I just got another one to give my goby purpose again. Did the high magnesium kill my shrimp?

chipmunkofdoom2

Always Making Something
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can't say if 1,800 ppm magnesium is harmful. I can say that Seachem Reef Fusion contains magnesium in addition to other elements. If your magnesium in your salt mix is high, Reef Fusion will maintain it at an already high level.

Red Sea magnesium test kits have occasionally been found to be inaccurate also. Perhaps try a different test kit and see if you get a different result.

OP
OP
jasonrusso

jasonrusso

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can't say if 1,800 ppm magnesium is harmful. I can say that Seachem Reef Fusion contains magnesium in addition to other elements. If your magnesium in your salt mix is high, Reef Fusion will maintain it at an already high level.

Red Sea magnesium test kits have occasionally been found to be inaccurate also. Perhaps try a different test kit and see if you get a different result.
Yes I know that Reef Fusion 1 contains Mag (why I mentioned it [emoji6]).