Dual 250G Marineland Deep Dimension tanks

davidfrances

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the Reef2Reef site, and would like to share my dual 250G Marineland Deep Dimension tanks. I have these tanks set up in my basement, they sit directly on the stained concrete slab. Both tanks have been operational since January 2013.

MIXED REEF (left side tank)
This tank is a mixed coral reef. It mostly contains soft corals, with a few LPS. I have quite a few sea fans as well. My equipment consists of:

1. Lighting – Four (4) 24†ReefBreeder Photon 24’s
2. Sump – 40 gallon breeder – I have one baffle straddled by a sponge filter
3. Return Pump – two (2) Eheim 1262’s, each plumbed to a separate overflow return.
4. Skimmer – Skimz SM 251 Monzter E-Series
4a. ReefOctopus BioChurn 120INT bioreactor with BRS NPS biopellets
5. Filter – Blue 10 ppi sponge in sump baffle.
6. Freshwater top-off (to maintain constant osmotic balance) – 25 gallon transport tank, bellows pump and float switch. I top off with kalkwasser made from Mrs. Ball’s pickling lime.
7. Water motion – 4x VorTech MP40w’s.
8. Heater – None. The ambient temperature of my basement is approximately 74 degrees F. The tank runs approximately 79 degrees, regardless of the season. I do not notice any temperature variances greater than 2 degrees.
9. Misc. Equipment – Red Sea Aquazone Ozone Generator/Controller (ozone, when generated, is pumped into the skimmer); American Marine Pinpoint pH monitor
10. Sand bed – CaribSea Flamingo Reef Sand (1-2mm) ~2â€deep
11. Water Quality Parameters – tested with a Sera Aqua-Test Box Marin Master Test Kit for Saltwater Aquariums unless otherwise noted:
a. pH – 8.4 via pinpoint pH monitor
b. Temp – 79 degrees F
c. Calcium – 600
d. Ammonia – 0
e. Nitrite – 0
f. Nitrate – 0
g. ORP - ~400mV measured via Red Sea Aquazone Controller
h. phosphate – 0.5ppm

FOWLR (right side tank):