Duncan's shriveled / parameter check

beyer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A few days ago my green Duncan frag remained closed for a day and now seems shriveled or just not as extended as it once was. I'm still fairly new at keeping a saltwater tank so correct me if some of my parameters seem off please.

Ammonia- 0
Nitrate- 0 / undetectable
PH- 8.2
Magnesium-1240
Alk- 9.6
Calcium- 425
Salinity- 1.025
Temp- 78°
15% water change on 6/22/17

OP
OP
beyer

beyer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_0593.JPG

OP
OP
beyer

beyer

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How old is your system and how long have you had the duncan? MG is a bit on the low side

The tank is probably around 6 months old and the Duncan is approaching 2 months. I dose mg/alk/ca from the Red Sea foundation supplements. I have went through an entire bottle of magnesium in a 2 month or so span trying to slowly pull it up to the 1300 mark. My alk has always been high like 12 but has dropped a bit now so I haven't had to dose much at all. And my ca is usually not too much lower than 420 so I don't dose nearly as much as mg.

Mal11224

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It doesn't look too bad. Duncan's go in from time to time and then come out slowly. I have a Duncan that does it all the time. Has about 6 heads and counting. I would give it some time to see what it does. May need to feed it a bit. Nitrates are low. I also keep my magnesium at 1400. 1240 is not too bad.

Mal11224

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That alk swing can definitely be an issue. Also, when you alk and calcium levels fluctuate, mg becomes hard to maintain.

Flippers4pups

Fins up since 1993
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yep, water pramameters look good, except the swing.