Dwarf seahorse fry

irescuedogs

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi! So I have my first round of seahorse fry and I’m terrified! I just got seahorses for the first time ever a few days ago so I’m a serious beginner and just wanted some advice. I kept the fry in the same tank with the adults. Not all of them made it unfortunately, they just never moved once they came out. My biggest concern is the water changes since they’re all in one tank. How do I do it?!? I’m worried I’ll suck them up the siphon!! Also all of my bbs died for some reason . obviously I shouldn’t feed them dead bbs but what else can they eat besides that? Any other tips you can share please feel free . I will definitely be appreciative of the advice. thanks!!

Weasel1960

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Haven’t started my tank yet but maybe talk to folks at link below, they have some resources on their website that might help.

Doctorgori

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I keep a hair algae filled messy 5 gal just for surprise batches. The tank yields just enough pods for 50 fry for 24-48hrs ... you might loose this batch but perhaps prepare a gallon jar or fishbowl for next batch. maybe place a chaeto filled jar near a sunny window

deetu

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm sorry I didn't see this sooner.
You have to take fry out (use brine shrimp net, not siphon or turkey baster) and feed them separate.
10 gallon bare bottom tank with seasoned sponge filter and hitches (plastic plants or bird toy chains) will be best.