External Overflow tips on safety, noise and utility!

JohnnyTabasco

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Intro

Today I was cleaning my external overflow and I was thinking how much there is to learn about this simple contraption. I believe my overflow is the thing I spend most time on getting to know - and I'm still learning. So I decided to share some tips and some diy ideas from my experience.

AND best of all - I will share my secret on how to keep water out of your mouth when starting the siphon!!!

DSC09631.JPG

Before we begin I would just recommend getting a drilled tank (a so called reef ready tank) in the first place.
But for some of us that was not an option so here we go.

SAFETY
The biggest problem, In my opinion, with external overflows is the chance of them breaking siphon or the drain pipe getting clogged. This will, in best case, result in you mopping the floors and in worst case you leaving this planet from electrocuting your self.
In both situations someone will be unhappy with you - I promise you that much!

So here is what I did to make sure my tank want overflow in case the siphon breaks or a snail decide to climb down the drain.

1. Drilling an extra drain/ emergency drain

DSC09636.JPG
Here your seeing the back of my overflow from above.
I drilled the overflow box up high so if the drain got clogged the water will rise and then the extra drain will take over.

2. Add two float switches
In the picture above you might also have noticed the float switch.
If your not familiar with float switches I would recommend you check them out. Basically they are a magnetic switch that will react if they are floating or not floating.
I Got the tunze 7607/2 to turn off my return if the water lever in the tank or in the overflow gets too high. If one of them is triggered the pump will turn off and set start an alarm.
Cool gadget if you ask me.

tunze_.jpg