Fang Tooth Blenny Life Expectancy

Huskymaniac

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
anyone have any idea what it is? I have been keeping Kamohara Blennies since 2014 and they only last 2-3 years. Any other fang blenny keepers with similar experience?

Haydn

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
wonder if it's because kamoharas are probably cooler water fish than we keep them at?

what about other fang blennies?

In 2016 I ordered via TMC (UK wholesaler) from ORA 5 of each, Smith’s Blenny (Meiacanthus smithi), Striped Blenny (Meiacanthus grammistes), and Blackline Blenny (Meiacanthus nigrolineatus) with the Kamahora's. All tank bred. They were all about the same size (3") they lived together without any issues (except a couple of losses) until mid 2019 when they started to disappear- the last one went early 2020.

OK it may have been a disease that only affects Fangs, no other fish in the tank were affected and there was no outward symptoms and no fangs (or blennies) were added during that time.
My guess is 3-4 years is a reasonable life span for fangs.

OP
OP
Huskymaniac

Huskymaniac

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In 2016 I ordered via TMC (UK wholesaler) from ORA 5 of each, Smith’s Blenny (Meiacanthus smithi), Striped Blenny (Meiacanthus grammistes), and Blackline Blenny (Meiacanthus nigrolineatus) with the Kamahora's. All tank bred. They were all about the same size (3") they lived together without any issues (except a couple of losses) until mid 2019 when they started to disappear- the last one went early 2020.

OK it may have been a disease that only affects Fangs, no other fish in the tank were affected and there was no outward symptoms and no fangs (or blennies) were added during that time.
My guess is 3-4 years is a reasonable life span for fangs.

Very good information. Did you notice if the Kamohara's were the first to go?

JohnGP

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0