[Fiji Cube 32] The Nano Jake Adams Aussie Reef Wall Tribute

habetm14

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well, now’s as good a time as any.

Like probably many of you, I spent the pandemic going down a lot of strange YouTube rabbit holes. I’d watch videos about random hobbies and pursuits that I had zero intention of ever trying. Naturally, I found reefing videos and started watching Reef Builders.

I grew up with freshwater aquariums, but I didn’t even know reef aquariums were viable on the hobbyist level. I loved the videos, the taxonomy, the aquascaping, everything. Jake Adams was a tremendous host, and his passion was infectious for an interested newbie. I was completely hooked.

But I was a broke grad student that traveled frequently, so a reef tank wasn’t in the cards. For two plus years, I watched videos and tried to learn as much as I could.

Right around when Jake Adams sadly passed away, I took the plunge. I first set up a 10 gallon macroalgae tank, and then an Eshopps Deskmate. I absolutely fell in love with the hobby. I loved the attention to detail, the constant problem solving.

Finally, I am in a position to set up a more substantial tank, but I needed to 1) keep it relatively small, with an impending move next year, 2) keep it relatively affordable, and 3) find a coherent theme or concept versus a general mixed reef.

Even before Jake Adams passed, I noticed a lot of discussion and controversy surrounding the Aussie Reef Wall tank at the Reef Builders studio. It was an unusual and divisive aquascape. And in the year since, I’ve noticed how many times it has come up in various podcasts and articles when referencing his legacy. It was often referenced in retrospectives and tributes in light of his approach to reefing.

I also really struggled with the aquascape at first; however, I found myself consistently returning to the series of videos. I loved the defined theme, the unique angles. It finally struck a chord with me.