100G/400L build between two walls

monfilsi

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi from New Zealand!

Got into the hobby about two years and found this site to be HUGE help in all the research that comes with owning a living reef. Figured it was time to share my journey and tank.

Little bit about myself, I'm an engineer with Ph.D. specializing in laser physics... so I really enjoy the research and the diversity of knowledge you end up building.

This project started out with idea that my son had during lockdowns that we could put a hole in a wall a install a fish tank that we would see from both side in different rooms. This meant I had to make everything custom to fit the location, but that was the part I was looking forward to anyways!

March 2022: working on walls and cabinet
IMG-20240324-WA0004.jpg
IMG-20240324-WA0005.jpg

Equipment List:
400L custom tank with euro brace and custom sump.
Lights: Kessel x360 + some other lights I regret. What to move over to Radions some time soon when wallet says ok.
Tunze ATO
Daily water automatic water with Kamoer pumps changes of ~1.5% per day
Salt: Aquaforest Reef salt... not thrilled with this salt. It constantly reads very Magnesium and doesn't match my desired parameters.
Return pump: reef octopus varios-2
Skimmer: bubble magnus
Doser: Kamoer
Heater: 2xWeipro MX-1021B with 300W Titanium Heater
Return was setup in bean animal configuration
Reactor with GFO to keep phosphate in check
Wavemakers: Jabeo
Microscope: Swift SW380T

Feeding/dosing
Dosing All-for-reef (without magnesium)
Feed 3 types of fish pellets/flakes
Mysis shrimp 2 cubes a week
Broadcast feed coral one a week reef roids/reef chilly
Target Feed coral once a week reef roids/reef chilly
Add 300ml of live phytoplankton everyday that I culture myself

My target parameters:
Salinity: 1.025
Alk: 9.5 dKH
Nitrate: 10 ppm
Phosphate: 0.06ppm
Calcium: 450 ppm
Magnesium: 1300pm

June 2022: Aquascaping and plumbing done!