Fijicube sump with fleece roller

Ecotech Marine

ajhudson15

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
977
Location
Bloomington, IN
Just wanting to see if anyone that is using the Fiji cube sumps are using a fleece roller. I am looking for input and to see fi they fit well or if any modifications were made. I have the fijicube sump 30
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
ajhudson15

ajhudson15

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
977
Location
Bloomington, IN
its a little different because the filter sock holder comes out and you can place a mesh basket in its place so im trying to figure out exactly what rollers I can use
 

infinite0180

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
1,606
Reaction score
985
20050DA8-C5EF-470F-9E23-B6D4171A5224.jpeg
99153E4F-EBDD-4E57-A44B-470BD59B6790.jpeg
CA9F80F7-315A-4F90-8128-C408EB2BEED3.jpeg
4C80C037-57CE-4E86-BE93-B20AC80E8EC5.jpeg

my design works well... Klir - 4 on the 20 gal sump
 
Corals.com
OP
ajhudson15

ajhudson15

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
977
Location
Bloomington, IN
20050DA8-C5EF-470F-9E23-B6D4171A5224.jpeg
99153E4F-EBDD-4E57-A44B-470BD59B6790.jpeg
CA9F80F7-315A-4F90-8128-C408EB2BEED3.jpeg
4C80C037-57CE-4E86-BE93-B20AC80E8EC5.jpeg

my design works well... Klir - 4 on the 20 gal sump
i saw those on one of the other threads and i may go that route. I just need to know which flece rollers I can get. idk if I can get the 7 as its hard to guage size when the sump is built the way it is
 

infinite0180

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
1,606
Reaction score
985
Does the 30 come with two 4 inch socks standard, if so then its probably the same size as the 20 and there is no was your getting a klir 7 in there. You could squeeze two klir 4s maybe
 
OP
ajhudson15

ajhudson15

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
977
Location
Bloomington, IN
Does the 30 come with two 4 inch socks standard, if so then its probably the same size as the 20 and there is no was your getting a klir 7 in there. You could squeeze two klir 4s maybe
Yes 2 4 inch socks but the page that holds them comes out so it's really bigger than that
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
ajhudson15

ajhudson15

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
977
Location
Bloomington, IN
The klir 4 just barely fits into the opening of the eurobracing on the top of the sump... theres no way the 7 will fit. Its 6 inches wide at its narrowest
This is exactly the info I was looking for. I really appreciate it. How much for you to make that insert for me and ship to 47404?
 

DWill

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 11, 2020
Messages
325
Reaction score
268
Interesting thread. I have a Fiji 20. Was thinking about getting 2 4” Klir’s. Having done any measuring yet. Will 2 4’s not fit?
 

infinite0180

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
1,606
Reaction score
985
This is exactly the info I was looking for. I really appreciate it. How much for you to make that insert for me and ship to 47404?
I had Matt from Octoaquatics make it for me. Hes a member here or you can email him at [email protected]. Send him the picture and im sure he remembers making mine as it was a pretty unusual request. Im pretty sure he has the info saved.
 

infinite0180

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
1,606
Reaction score
985
Interesting thread. I have a Fiji 20. Was thinking about getting 2 4” Klir’s. Having done any measuring yet. Will 2 4’s not fit?
Honestly i feel like between one klir 4 and a skimmer its hard enough leaving organics in my system. Ive never really considered a need for two..
 

infinite0180

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
1,606
Reaction score
985
@infinite0180 thanks for sharing! I'm definitely going to hit Matt up.
No problem, it works great. I even made a breakout power cable for the klir motor and plugged it into my apex and installed a float switch. I wrote some nice code with the help of others on here and now have total control of my roller. One small thing to note. The water level in the sump will need to be pretty high so that the majority of the lower half of the klir is sitting in the water. If not water pressure tends to be really high on the filter paper itself and it finds its way around the fleese before water can raise above the klir sensor and you get some bypassing when it gets really dirty. I actually keep the sump level at about 10 inches and had to get a skimmer stand to raise my skimmer. Ive been meaning to raise the water even higher but haven't taken the time...

cheapest filter roller sump on the market
 
OP
ajhudson15

ajhudson15

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
1,295
Reaction score
977
Location
Bloomington, IN
No problem, it works great. I even made a breakout power cable for the klir motor and plugged it into my apex and installed a float switch. I wrote some nice code with the help of others on here and now have total control of my roller. One small thing to note. The water level in the sump will need to be pretty high so that the majority of the lower half of the klir is sitting in the water. If not water pressure tends to be really high on the filter paper itself and it finds its way around the fleese before water can raise above the klir sensor and you get some bypassing when it gets really dirty. I actually keep the sump level at about 10 inches and had to get a skimmer stand to raise my skimmer. Ive been meaning to raise the water even higher but haven't taken the time...

cheapest filter roller sump on the market
DO YOU LIKE IT. I WAS READING SOME REVIEWS ON BRS AND SOME SEEM TO AHVE TROUBLE WITH THE MOTOR AND WHAT NOT.
 

infinite0180

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2018
Messages
1,606
Reaction score
985
DO YOU LIKE IT. I WAS READING SOME REVIEWS ON BRS AND SOME SEEM TO AHVE TROUBLE WITH THE MOTOR AND WHAT NOT.
Yes i like it. They upgraded the motor and its very strong now. Those reviews are old. The controller and sensor pretty good as well. Biggest thing ive learned is it should be pulled out of the tank every 3 months and soaked in vinegar to remove any calcification. If you keep it clean and the fleece freely moving and clear of any snails it works great.
 
Zoanthids

Have you ever had a reef tank with no sump and how did it go?

  • YES and it was just fine

    Votes: 371 58.5%
  • YES but it was difficult

    Votes: 111 17.5%
  • NO

    Votes: 140 22.1%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 12 1.9%
Innovative Marine
Top