First build, lots of questions

Joel j

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all.
I am taking the plunge into saltwater.
I have been keeping freshwater for 20+ years and shrimp for 5 years.
My wife wants a "nemo", but she does not want another tank in the house.
I have agreed to break down my 75g planted tank and convert it to saltwater.
I already have an ro/di system and am familiar with mixing and testing water.
My plan for the tank is to build my own aio drop in. In my head I want to put one on each end of the tank. I have not seen this in any aio tanks for sale and am wondering if there is a reason that they are only on one end, peninsula I think it's called. Or across the whole back. Is there reasons why I should not put one on both ends? I would put the overflow and return on diagonal.
Please let me know the good, the bad and the ugly on this idea.

Roadkillstewie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well it's kind of redundant..and cost more material wise from a mfg standpoint. Then there's the...esthetics of seeing the, 'plumbing' on both ends, return pump etc al.

Now granted, you could hide it with an, in-wall setup...or custom cabinet around the tank...
but open, ontop of a stand, not so pretty.

doubleaio.png

Last edited:

Jimbobalou622

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   1   0
Hello all.
I am taking the plunge into saltwater.
I have been keeping freshwater for 20+ years and shrimp for 5 years.
My wife wants a "nemo", but she does not want another tank in the house.
I have agreed to break down my 75g planted tank and convert it to saltwater.
I already have an ro/di system and am familiar with mixing and testing water.