First Fish Tank

Blenny Benny

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Current State
Hi everybody, this is my first build thread (my first thread overall in fact).

DSC09433.jpg

DSC09432.jpg

DSC09411.jpg

OP
OP
Blenny Benny

Blenny Benny

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Background and Goals (aka the part you can skip)

I guess this started back in 2015, when my girlfriend (now wife) and I went to a pet store where they had this display tank with a couch in front of it:
IMG-20200321-WA0005.jpg

We fell in love with it but, being a student, I lacked the money or room for something like this.
Coincidentally, this was the same time BRStv started their 52 Weeks of reefing which I stumbled upon and followed with excitement. Shout out to the great work they are doing promoting reefing and getting people into the hobby.
Fast forward three years, when we got our first apartment, we decided to start with a small 30L (8G) nano mixed reef
IMG_20200322_131344.jpg

DSC09439.jpg

For the most part it was successful, but of course to small to house any fish (or much more corals).
The biggest setback was last summer: it got to hot and one coral started dying. Thought it could be fragged to save some part of it without getting sufficiently informed → Cut it inside the tank resulting in some toxin released, killing out Xenias and a already dwindling Tubipora :(
Then last year there was trade show near us and we decided to take a visit. Just in case, we took the measurements of where the Aquarium could be put and since we already got the measurements why not order one :D
We ended up getting a ~300 L (80 G) display with a ~120 L (30 G) sump with stand.
Unfortunately our living room gets quite hot so we decided to put it into the hallway:
The benefit of this is it’s the first thing to see when coming home and also visible from my desk, the bedroom and one corner of the couch.
This thread is a journal of this tank.

Goals