First Tank Nano Tank

Lulu_Lunette

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I'm new to the forums - to get this thread up todate - I started my first reef tank towards the end of last summer, a Fluval Evo 13.5 nano tank. I chose a nano because it would fit perfectly on my bar in my basement and thought that being small it would be more affordable for getting my sleeves wet into the hobby. After doing some research the only answers I was coming up with that nano tanks were hard. Oh great, what did I get myself into?

Initial equipment:
  • Fluval Evo 13.5 tank (with stock return pump and light)
  • PS2 Mini Protein Skimmer
  • Fluval M50 Heater

For the initial setup i decided to use cured live rock and live sand. I was very lucky to have an awesome fish store not to far from my house. After discussing what I wanted to do, size of my tank and being I am a beginner we decided that the best way to not set myself up for failure to not only use their live rock and sand but also use water direct from their display tank. Essentially do a tank transfer. I arranged the rocks into an arch, I wanted to give the future inhabitants something to swim around. I also added a clean up crew with the inital setup.
Q0BDOrr.jpg

07.30.17 - Inital Setup

The first two weeks after setup the tank did go through a mini cycle. Having survived the hurdle and managing to not kill my clean up crew I decided to add the tanks first fish and coral inhabitants. For fish I selected two Clarkii clownfish and for coral I selected green star polyp, a hairy mushroom and clove polyp. By this time, the starfish seemed to have disappeared and I have not seen any since. A few weeks later I added a Kenya tree, an echinopora and a green nephthea.
5BicsAJ.jpg

08.20.17 - First Inhabitants

First Issues –