Fish disease in Tangs and Clowns

DHouse

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I love me some Tangs and Clowns but has anyone besides myself noticed that they are not as hardy as they used to be? I have been keeping marine fish for more than 20 years and I can honestly say that I have had a minimal number of cases of ich, velvet, swim bladder or any other diseases in any of my tanks in the past and I never quarantined or dipped my fish or coral. Recently (past couple of years or so), I have noticed that more and more of the fish that I get from my local LFS (I have known the owners for a long time and know how and where they get their fish supply) are developing more and more diseases. It seems in my tank, that if a fish makes it past the first month or so of being in general population, it usually survives. I test my water regularly and do water changes when needed. My parameters are within range to house corals in all of my tanks. I currently have an extra large Hippo, Purple and Clown Tang, along with numerous Clowns, an extra large Queen Angel, a Red Coris Wrasse (juvenile), a Red Coris Wrasse (adult), two male and a one female Melanarus Wrasse, a Carpenter Flasher Wrasse and a number of gobbies among other fish and coral in three different display tanks. I used to bring fish home, acclimate them, and put them in my tank(s). No quarantining or dipping. The last year or so, I have purchased two Naso Tangs (both large), a Desjardini Tang (large), several of the hybrid Clowns and all have developed ich or velvet and one developed swim bladder disease. I have since set up a quarantine tank, I dip both fish and coral and they still seem to be getting sick after putting them in the display. Not all of them, but mainly the Tangs and the Clowns (Tangs with ich and Clowns with velvet). Have any of you long time fish keepers noticed this change? What do you think could be causing this or am I just noticing this more and more due to the price o