Fishless cycle

Shiggknight

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I hit 3 weeks of my fishless cycle Saturday of last week. First time doing a fishless cycle and I have a purple tang in quarantine ide like to put in when it’s safe. 90g tank. I used nitro cycle from algaebarn as my ammonia additive. No lights on, filter sock filtration with algae scrubber.

Should I wait longer? What’s your opinions?

PH- 8.2
ALK- DKH 7.5/ Mep/L - 2.68
Ammonia- 0
Nitrite- 0
Nitrate- pic provided

6E9CC166-B0F0-4A07-A438-17986F190638.jpeg 5F68F8F6-7547-49B9-9BC9-7BCA41F42061.jpeg B518ECE8-FE30-4FB0-AECA-7AED6E1E6BB8.jpeg

User

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I’ve never done that before what’s the theory behind that? Give me a little tutorial.
Dont do that.

If you don't saltwater acclimate it first- it'll die.

Also- if you do acclimate it properly (takes about 7-10 days) what's it going to show? Your biolfilter can support a mollie? Big deal.

Throw more ammonia in there to 2ppm. Test every day until it hits 0 ammonia, zero nitrite

At this point- Don't test nitrate- pointless since nitrite interferes.

Repeat ammonia dosing at 2ppm until your biofilter converts it all to nitrate within 24 hours.

Do one last ammonia dose, confirm ammonia zero nitrite zero at plus 24 hours.

Test nitrate- big water change if it's up in the 50's or more.

If you plan to add corals- water change until it's down to 5-10ppm nitrate. You can do a big 90% change- you won't lose your biofilter since it's in the rocks not the water

Done

Add fish. Don't go too fast with adding more, let the biofilter catch up to your bioload

If you haven't added bottles bacteria product it's going to take a few more weeks. If you dumped some bottled bacteria in there 3 weeks ago, it'll happen much sooner. But you meed 3-4 cycles of ammonia dosing to 2ppm being converted to zero in order for the biofilter to grow and be developed enough to support livestock

Webslinger