Freshwater Feeders for a Saltwater Predator: Pros and Cons for a noob

UnderwaterGamer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am planning to get a wartskin angler/frogfish for a species only tank, however I have no experience with a predator fish so I wanted to ask what the pros and cons were to live feeders (Ghost shrimp, guppies, mollies). I've read a lot of things and I'm not sure which are myths and which are true, so I figured I'd ask! The following is what I've seen the most online:

1) I should QT my feeders for a week or two before feeding them to my fish, however I've read that freshwater diseases can't transfer to a saltwater fish

2) Even though I should try to get the predator fish on frozen food, they should still have something live once in awhile for stimulation/ hunting abilities

3) Freshwater feeders aren't very nutritious unless you gut load them (Ps what do you recommend/use for gut loading)

Thanks in advance for any input! Some of the forums I've read are from 2007-2011 so I'm not sure if there is better information a decade later, but I'd love to hear what people with predators do for feeding! TIA as always!

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Mollies, guppies, and ghosties period, you can tap my name and find all threads to see I have covered this extensively. You can find necropsies with pics of healthy livers after almost 10 years on this diet, while all the people that repeat against this, can't keep predatory fish like anglers, lions, abd scorps even as long as 1 year.

DapperCuttlefish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0