Fun with Phosphates

rworegon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK I have a 90 Gal mixed reef, 20 gal sump, 6 gal fuge with rock rubble and macro, oversized skimmer bla bla bla. System is about a year old. Here is the issue:

Phosphates have always been on the high side. Yes I probably overfeed. Water tests have always been pretty good. Nitrates are **** close to zero, no ammonia, alk runs between 8 and 9, sorry its an API test, Cal 440 to 460, Mag around 1400. These are what its been running on average over the past few months. Phosphates got as high as .35. I used some Kent Phosphate sponge and reduced it down to .25 while I waited for my BRS reactors to arrive. I got the reactors on line, one running GFO (3/4 cup to start) and carbon in the other. In 24 hours Phosphates went from .25 to .15. In the next 24 hours Phosphates went to .13. This is Hanna Checker.

This is my first reactor so I have no experience with running Gfo other than running Chemipure in the filter sock. So my question is, is it possible that the small amount of GFO I started the reactor with is already depleted? Should I run it for a couple more days and test again before worrying about changing it out? I know I don't want to completely eliminate Phosphates, or bring them down too quickly.

Looking for experience or suggestions.

Thanks.

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If it hasn't taken anymore out of the system, I'd change it.

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
System will stabilize pretty quick with it removed.

OP
OP
rworegon

rworegon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0