Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to the reefing hobby,

What is the best way to get nitrate levels down
Welcome aboard!

How long has your tank been up? is there livestock yet? how are you filtering now?
Liverock or dead rock?

Greybeard

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Water change.

For many years, this was pretty much the _only_ way. These days, there are alternatives to maintaining low nitrate levels, but even now, once you're reading high nitrates, water changes are still the fast and sure method of reducing them.

MaiReef

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Find cause and add bacteria and/or something that consumes nitrates, like macro algae. Decrease bioload.

Gareth elliott

Read, Tinker, Fail, Learn
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Read some of your other posts :)
Agree with the water changes.
If your still feeding marine snow, i would stop. If see a decrease in coral growth after that feed the corals directly :)
Also would decrease how much you feed any fish. Since this is the enjoyable time with fish do more often.
Example If feeding 1 cube 1 times a day. Feed 1/4 cube 2x a day

redfishbluefish

Stay Positive, Stay Productive
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The best way is a multitude of things....not just one....and potentially different for each tank. Consider water changes, refugiums, skimmers, carbon dosing, etc.....all the way to something like denitrification systems like sulfur denitrifiers or Natureef's system.

Susan Edwards

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0