Getting my first fish in 3 days, got any tips?

WalkerLoves_TheOcean

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, if you have been following my build thread, you might know that I am getting fish this Saturday, the 17th. I have a small 15G tank, and it finished its cycle 2 days ago.

I am nervous that my water is toxic, because nothing has been in it yet, but I think I am just overthinking it. I am a big overthinker. My LFS does test water for free, so I will bring a sample so they can do that, but does anyone know how much I should bring?

I am very nervous, but also very excited. I know that there is always going to be a possibility of fish unfortunately passing away, but I am not good with that kind of stuff, so I would like to limit it as much as I can.

With all that being said, I would appreciate any advice you have for me.

Thanks,

Walker

Stevorino

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The LFS will probably use only a few ounces of water to do the tests, but I like to bring a ~16oz plastic water bottle's worth for ease and convenience.

I would just say to keep the lights low as long as you can... until you are getting ready for coral, it gives the good stuff in your tank more runway to get established... and fish don't care that much about light.

Have fun Saturday. Think ahead of time about the fish you want to keep, and research compatibility with one another and corals. 15g is plenty big, but you also want to be very intentional about what you put in there.

saltcats

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tip is think about how you plan to transfer the fish from bag to tank ahead of time, and make sure you have everything you need right there so you can grab it easily!

Have you seen Jay Hemdal's acclimation guide?