Green Hair Algae explosion in new tank

Creggers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello R2R,

I have been cycling my new rocks and decided to throw a cube of Mysis shrimp to feed the various animals living in my rock work. I woke up the next day to an absolute explosion of GHA all over the glass, dry rock, and even some on the Live Rock.

I know that there's usually an ugly period when setting up a new tank, but the amount of algae that just exploded seemingly over night is insane. I'll admit that I'm pretty new to cycling a saltwater aquarium that's as large as this one.

Should I be at all concerned? or taking steps to resolve? I was considering getting some CUC members in there and scrubbing the rocks the best I can. Should I be concerned or just let the cycle go and let the tank ugly up?

IMG-8209.jpg IMG-8208.jpg

kartrsu

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Whoa that’s a crazy explosion over night. Hmm, I’d take the affected rocks out and give them a good scrub down. Is the tank still cycling? If it is, might be best to do manual removal and let the cycle run it’s course first. If it’s done, Id do a water change and get some turbo snails.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
13   0   0
A little excessive. Reduce white light intensity and add clean up members such as:
Turbo snails
Astrea snails
Nerite snails
Nassarius snails
About 10 blue leg hermit crabs

BY ANY CHANCE, IS THIS TANK AT OR NEAR A WINDOW ??

OP
OP
Creggers

Creggers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A little excessive. Reduce white light intensity and add clean up members such as:
Turbo snails
Astrea snails
Nerite snails
Nassarius snails
About 10 blue leg hermit crabs

BY ANY CHANCE, IS THIS TANK AT OR NEAR A WINDOW ??

It''s running in the basement and gets very little light outside of the LEDs which I've reduced the intensity of by almost 50%.