Greenhunter's RedSea 250 - Tank transfer and build

thegreenhunterz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Introduction

Hey Reef2Reef, my name is Vikthor and this is my first build thread. I have ADHD and will try to keep this thread alive for those who want to follow and help me on my journey. I have an old 50 Gallon AIO that I’m upgrading to a second hand Red Sea 250 this Friday. I wanted to make a build thread because it will hopefully also motivate me to keep even better care of my small piece of ocean. I'm also planning on being more active on the forums, instead of lurking... :beaming-face-with-smiling-eyes:

Current tank
I’ll update this part with the latest equipment, inhabitants or other changes.

Habitat/Aquascape
  • CaribSea Special Grade
  • AquaForest synthetic rock (first time using)
  • Some rock from the tank I'm breaking down.
  • Tropic Marine Classic Salt
Parameters
  • 1.026 Salinity
  • 25.5 C Temperature
  • 5.0 nitrate
  • 0.05 Phosphate
  • 8.2-8.3 PH
  • DKh about 8
  • Cal ~400
  • Magnesium ~1300

Current Equipment
  • 2x AI Prime 16HD, light schedule below.
  • 1 Maxspect MJ-GF4k Gyre on 20%
  • 1 Jebao/Jecod SLW5 on 100%
  • 1 AuqaMedic Smart Drift 3.1 on 100%
  • Eheim Thermo Control 250W Heater
  • AquaMedic skimmer that came with my old tank.
  • Jebao/Jecod DCP4000 Return pump
Future Equipment
  • Proper skimmer?
  • Controller with titanium heater?
  • Auto top off
  • Maybe look into refugium
  • Reactors?
Inhabitants
  • Yellow Coris Wrasse
  • Pair of clowns
  • Banded Goby
  • Royal gramma
  • 3 Tuxedo Urchins to deal with my massive GHA problem…
  • 6-8 Nassarius Snails
  • 6 Trochus/Astrea snails
  • 2 Blue Hermit Crabs
Corals
  • <TODO>
Light Schedule

schedule.jpg

Old tank

WhatsApp Image 2024-01-31 at 15.50.03_7c66aaa7.jpg