Gyre 250

Discussion in 'Maxspect' started by RedSox81, Sep 19, 2017.

  1. RedSox81

    RedSox81 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Morris IL
    will 1 be enough flow for a 120 sps tank?
     
    Tags:

  2. MarineMalecki

    MarineMalecki Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    it should be more than enough.....i have 2 in my 300 and have to keep them under 100% otherwise the sand is moving all over. For reference, the dimensions of my tank are 72"x30"x30"
     
  3. yellojello

    yellojello Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    San Jose
    4 ft or 5 ft long? You have sand? One provides plenty of flow, although two would be better and provide more random flow options. I have two on my 4x2x2 120g
     
    bhuyett likes this.
  4. tautog83

    tautog83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    albany ny
    I'm planning on 2 on a red sea reefer 750 hope this will be enough
     
  5. RedSox81

    RedSox81 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Morris IL
    4 ft. I might try 1 and go from there. Thanks for the info
     
  6. iLLwiLL

    iLLwiLL Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Central FL
    I have one 150 in a shallow 80 (same footprint) and am going to add in another one. IMO one is enough but with 2 you have a lot more options.
     
  7. Dj24680

    Dj24680 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    25
    I got 2 on my 3ft 65 gallon. They go up to 80% at times. It is a sps dominant tank. I started with 1 but wanted more flow or back and forth flow. Gteat thing with them is you can by 1 then when you need it buy a pump only and add it to the controller
     
  8. Iiismet

    Iiismet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have two on my 80, 48x24x16 footprint
     
  9. RedSox81

    RedSox81 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Morris IL
    Thanks everyone for the help. I'll start with 1 and go from theee
     
    Puppy likes this.
  10. Puppy

    Puppy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Branford Connecticut
    How did it work out for you? I’m starting a 90 gallon and want to just have one pump in my tank
     
  11. Michael A Kurolvech

    Michael A Kurolvech Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    46
    I would recommend two. I have a 90 gal (36 x 24 x 24) and I have two of the XF 230's. One Gyre may be enough for your tank but with two you have many more flow pattern options and with the importance of flow for SPS I would ALWAYS suggest that more is better.
     
  12. RedSox81

    RedSox81 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Morris IL
    I have 2 on my 120. I think 1 would work for you. The advanced controller is a must in my opinion
     
  13. jduong916

    jduong916 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Elk Grove
    I use two in my 4' 120 and an a jebao (mp40 size) in the center. I think 2 is perfect, at least for SPS
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...