Hello I'm New. Question about best wood for Cabinet/Canopy

ramled99

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone:

I am a beginner and setting up a saltwater tank for my 13year son for his birthday. I have gone to two places to get quotes for a full installation, set up and design of a 150 gallon tank.

My question for now only involves picking the cabinet and canopy. I don't want any other tank sizes or furniture styles except cabinet and canopy as it is easiest and fits the decor of my den.

I am getting two almost opposite perspectives from two companies I've talked to about designing and installing the tank. The first company is recommending that he can get 150 gallon "solid oak" cabinet and canopy that I should use, and it would be custom made. He also said DO NOT GET PINE, and to get fully solid oak, although I am not sure what exactly that means.

Another company tells me it recommends and can get "solid oak veneer" cabinet and canopy. The second company said that solid oak for the entire cabinet and canopy is a fortune and a total waste of money. He said no one cares about or ever sees the quality of wood inside a cabinet and nothing will be down there except plumbing and filtration equipment. I asked the second company if the oak veneer is sturdy and will hold up as well as solid oak over time, and if is as good as solid oak in water resistance. He said yes.

What are your thoughts? Should I spend the extra money of getting a total custom all oak cabinet and canopy? I know if it were a coffee table, I would want solid wood throughout, not a wood veneer, and then plastic or cheap wood holding things together inside. But I am not terribly concerned about what's inside an aquarium cabinet as long as it is sturdy and will last.