Help deciding on a Macro Lens for Nikon D3500

Nburg's Reef

High-Rise Reefer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just got a Nikon D3500 and would like to get a macro lens to take pics of coral etc. I got the D3500 kit from costco which includes 2 lenses which are fine for general photos, but neither are great for macro shooting. Granted I am new to DLSR shooting, so some of the terminology is beyond me at this point, but I would like some advice on a good macro lens to buy, preferably used, that would be a good all purpose tank lens. I was reading about the Tamron 90mm, but some are saying its good for top down, sandbed shots, but a 60mm might be better for frontal shots and frag tank shots. I have a red sea reefer 450, so I'm looking at about 20" of water max, but most would be about 14-8" deep. And I doubt I would do a lot of top-down shooting right now except for my very shallow frag tank.

Also, the camera's specs say "Autofocus is available with AF-P and type E and G AF-S lenses". Would I want a macro lense with autofocus, or should I just get a manual focus?

tenurepro

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a similar tank in terms of depth (reefer 250) and a Nikon dslr as well.
For some ideas on what the focal lengths will look like, see this video
(it is a long video so skip over to relevant sections)
There are examples of shots taken with a 40mm, 60mm, 105 mm and 200 mm macro
I think 60mm is a good all round length. 100 mm will give you great details on polyps but will not be able to take pictures of colony’s from the top

OP
OP
Nburg's Reef

Nburg's Reef

High-Rise Reefer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a similar tank in terms of depth (reefer 250) and a Nikon dslr as well.
For some ideas on what the focal lengths will look like, see this video
(it is a long video so skip over to relevant sections)
There are examples of shots taken with a 40mm, 60mm, 105 mm and 200 mm macro