Help Identifying this Algae

HayesReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good evening all. I am still fairly new to this hobby and have had my reef tank with corals, 2 clown fish, conch and turbo snails for about a year now. Recently, I started to notice what I thought was algae growing all over the rocks and coral. I have scrapped it off the rocks and it grows back within a week. I have done water changes which has not seemed to help either. If a piece is scraped off, it will float and eventually dissolve and stick to the back of the tank. The ammonia, phosphates, pH, salinity and nitrates are all in normal ranges. I have used Vibrant, which has not helped. I am not sure what else to do. Does anyone know what this could be?

F4DBB1EC-C1EB-472E-A827-C2F93ADF4A31.jpeg 404FFA48-5086-4FF8-BB46-2AD99DE99CD7.jpeg 46428156-6952-4385-8287-EEBE7465A7A9.jpeg

OP
OP
HayesReef

HayesReef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I looked over all of the photos and links the last few days. It’s not affecting the coral negatively, it just looks really unsightly. This weekend, I am doing a big water change, scrubbing the rocks, and getting out as much of it as I can. I then am going to cycle 3-4 days of darkness to see if this helps any. I ordered GFO to add as well to the filter media.

When scraped off the rocks, pieces with air bubbles in them float to the top of the tank. When removed from water it semi holds it shape, but is gelatinous in nature. If this doesn’t work, I am not sure what else to do really besides start over. I have been battling this for 2 months now and I am about ready to throw in the towel.

bradleym

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0