Help starting a frag local frag show

65newbie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! TIA for your help.
I have read some posts on here about "How to start your own local frag swap" and wanted to ask how anyone who has started one has is doing?
Has your frag swap continued to be a success year after year? Do you have the same vendors return year after year?

-I did not see anything discussed on how to calculate how many visitors you may have.
-We have one local aquatics store. It is right in the path of a bypass that will be put in so I want to keep saltwater alive in the area. There are many hobbyist's who I have traded with or sold to locally.
-The closest to me is 1hr+ away.
-The location I am looking at is a brand new convention center. It's right in the middle of down town, attached to a hotel. I work in the restaurant business and would be willing to feed vendors the night before the event as a thank you.
-I am in SW Indiana on the Illinois border.

-I have been to "local" (1hr 30min away) frag swaps in Indianapolis, IN, I have been to Aquashella in Chicago and Orlando, amazing experience!
How do I know how much sq footage for a room? how much space her vendor?
The building main room is 12,500sq ft. it can be broken down smaller into rooms of 1,250sq ft, 2,500sq ft, or 5,000sq ft.

any help if getting something set up, prices to charge vendors, ticket/event prices.
If you want to reach out through social media or call or text you can shoot me message on here if you don't want to post of the thread.
I appreciate any help.

Thank you
Zach

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@65newbie I'm Secretary for our local hobby club, and I've personally organized three frag swaps so far since COVID restrictions lifted.

I'm lucky to have built on efforts of many others from previous years. In a nutshell, this is what I've focused upon for the frag swaps I've organized:
  • cost