Help - What is this killing my blenny

popsnicker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to all of this and have had a tank up for about 2 months now and everything was going great. Suddenly I had two fish die yesterday (6-lined wrasse and a royal gramma) and my blenny is sick with a reddish slime on him.
:too_sad:

What is it and how can I fix him (if it's not too late)

Yesterday I took a water sample to my LFS who said that everything was pretty good, ammonia slightly up, but that it was time for a water change so I changed out 5 gallons on a 29 gallon tank.

Thanks all

Attachments

• 011.jpg
    011.jpg
    86.3 KB · Views: 211

Azurel

Morpharian Maffia Hitman
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like it could be a bacterial infection that is causing the swelling and redness......What kind not sure to ard to say....Some Melafix or pimafix could help.....Ammonia being detectable means you haven't fully finished off your cycle or the dead fish caused a spike......ammonia shouldn't be detectable in a fully cycled tank unless there is an issue with the bio-logical filter...

_Alex_

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hate to - say it but sounds like to many fish to fast. If tank has only ben going for 2 months you probably havent finished cycling. And every new fish you add starts another cycle, just dont have enough biological filter yet too deal with that many fish.

OP
OP
P

popsnicker

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks, it could be that the dead fish caused the spike. My tank only took two weeks to fully cycle and since that point I haven't had any issues with water quality. My LFS has been testing my water for me every week or two continously and this was the first time the ammonia had changed at all. The other fish had been there for about a month with no issues too.

I'll look into Melafix and Pimafix

_Alex_

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%