Help with Bio balls in Biocube 29

hopperjl16

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've seen a lot of posts about removing the bio balls in the middle chamber in the Biocube and replacing with other things. Could someone explain to me the purpose of the bio balls and if I should or shouldn't replace with something else? In simplest explanation possible please b/c I'm brand new to all this! lol. A step-by-step instruction would be greatly appreciated. With exactly what I may need to get and how to manage it.

(A little more info on the tank: 13 lbs of live rock, 25 lbs live sand, 2 clown fish, 1 watchman goby, 2 nassarius snails, 5 astrea snails, 1 sand sifting starfish, 1 fire shrimp, green star polyp, kenya tree coral, and a couple tiny hermit crabs. The tank has been up for about a month, I've been checking parameters every 2-3 days and everything is good. I have tons of copepods that keep blooming on my glass.)

Ryengoth

I wish I was in St John USVI
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They're supposed to trap algae fibers and grow algae as well as maintain the various bateria to help process the nitrogen cycle. The ones that come with the Coralife BC 29 just take eons to grow out. I tried getting mine seeded for 6 months and eventually tossed them out and used 3 layers of various size and shaped bio media from Fluval and Marineland, which immediately started growing.

sundog101

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The purpose of bioballs is to provide as much surface area as possible for bacteria to grow. This acts as your biological filtration. The general consensus is that bioballs cause excess nitrates ( I've never used them so I can't speak from experience).

I would remover the bioballs. What you want to add depends on what type of filtration you want to have and how you want to run your tank.

Here's what currently have in my biocube
Chamber 1: heater
Chamber 2: intank media rack and algae scrubber