Help with chaeto fuge, Po4 creeping up

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

tacosricos

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been running chaeto in my tank for about 7 months now. At the beginning it was doing alright, but recently it seems like its being out-competed by nuisance algae, and my phosphates have begun to creep up.

System Notes:
It's a 60 gallon display, with about 15 gallons in the sump. The refugium is lit by a 2xt5 fixture with daylight bulbs. It is illuminated for 6.5 hours each night. I have been running a variation of the triton method for about 5 months and tank parameters stay pretty stable. I use the Triton Core7 supplements (other methods). Over the past twenty days or so my Po4 has begun to steadily climb, and is at 0.08 now. I never have issues with No3.

Sal. 1.025
Alk 7.5 dKH (hanna)
Cal 470 (hanna)
Mag 1200 (nyos)
No3 1 ppm (nyos)
Po4 currently 0.08, normally around 0.03 (hanna ulr)
Ph 8.15-8.2

Other than the chaeto I use about a cup of activated carbon in a reactor, and that's it.

I suspect that maybe I'm not giving the chaeto enough flow and or/ light. Any suggestions on how to grow better chaeto would be appreciated, thanks.

[url=https://flic.kr/p/NraM7q]
[/url]

CMO

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm running Triton and have the same issues with slightly elevated PO4, but zero N03 absent dosing. I keep my PO4 in check by mixing a small amount of AL99 or GFO in my with carbon since the fuge on it's own isn't fully controlling PO4 like it does NO3.

I'm dosing Full Triton Core 7 with a smaller than suggested fuge (5-6% of DT) and still having Iron and Iodine completely depleted absent supplemental dosing. So, given that you're running other methods on a newer tank (lower dosing than mature tank) my guess would be low Iodine, Iron, Manganese, or Molybdenum which are known to support chaeto. Do your ICP results show any of these low or zero?