Help with cleaning/water changes of biocube 29

hopperjl16

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've done my first couple water changes on my new biocube 29 (I'm a total newbie), and I'm having trouble sucking up a lot of the debris off the sand. I first blast off the rocks with a turkey baster to stir up the debris a little then syphon off the water as close to the sand as I can get without sucking up a ton of sand. Then I stir up the sand a little and continue syphoning. Is it not expected to get ALL the debris? Maybe my expectations are too high.....

Also along the lines of cleaning, today I traded out my bioballs for a setup someone else showed me on here (two large sponges set up vertically in chamber 2, topped off with a water polisher sponge, and a bag of chemipure elite at the bottom) and I was amazed at the amount of junk collected at the bottom of my chambers already! Chamber 1 I wasn't surprised, but chamber 2 and 3 had a bunch of crap at the bottom which I thought would have been pulled out by my first filter at the top of chamber 2. I ended up doing a partial water change b/c I felt compelled to syphon out all the crap I found in those chambers. Do you normally have to syphon out the chambers? Or is there another tip to cleaning those?

Any overall help with cleaning a biocube would be appreciated! Thanks!

Joe B.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've done my first couple water changes on my new biocube 29 (I'm a total newbie), and I'm having trouble sucking up a lot of the debris off the sand. I first blast off the rocks with a turkey baster to stir up the debris a little then syphon off the water as close to the sand as I can get without sucking up a ton of sand. Then I stir up the sand a little and continue syphoning. Is it not expected to get ALL the debris? Maybe my expectations are too high.....