Hi everyone! Help!

mverea97

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone i’m new to the hobby. And cycled my tank, levels were perfect. I think I made the mistake of adding everything vs gradually. Here are my levels for amonia and for nitrite. I have several coral in there, 2 clownfish, 1 red blood shrimp, and cleaner crew. Does anyone suggest anything? Thanks in advance!

IMG_6681.jpeg

Nano_Man

Anemone L
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Api give a idea of levels but to be accurate you need salfert tests or hanna tester . Any way you got a ammonia rise and nitrite don’t worry about the nitrite reading it’s your ammonia reading that you need too watch ammonia spikes kill fish . Signs of fish suffering from ammonia is rapid breathing also at the top of the water and in bad cases death . How old is your tank did you give it time to cycle until you only got a nitrate reading. You have too take things slow when stocking your tank the good bacteria has to multiply every time you put something else in . So I think your good bacteria is trying to play catch up. Was your tank done with dry rock or live rock?
You could do water changes if fish are suffering with the ammonia. Cut down a bit on feeding . Don’t add anything else until this sorts it’s self out . Keep testing your ammonia levels and keep an eye on how your fish are acting . You could add a air stone until the spike goes . Have you got a nitrate reading or is it 0

OP
OP
M

mverea97

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0