Hi! I'm a new nano reef tank owner

ConnivingPigeon

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I was gifted a Evo Max 13.5 by a friend who was upgrading, and I've been loving it. There's a pair of clownfish, a goby, a couple snails and a couple crabs as well. Fortunately, the tank was well-maintained and was given to me in a stable state, so I've been able to dodge a lot of the painful introductory bits (with, of course, the downside of not choosing what to place and what to stock).

I'm a software engineer in my day job, so I've decided to hack together a reef-pi setup for the maintenance tasks. I've got a webcam and a jetson nano set up on the shelf. Once covid is over, I'll be traveling again, so I'd like to be able to watch the fish while I'm gone, and if I get some time, I'd like to play with a neural net to track where the fish go all day. I'm looking into acquiring the bits to monitor/maintain the water levels since this seems like the least pleasurable part of the maintenance so far/

Looking forward to learning more from you all!

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

Clownfish.gif

Nano925

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I was gifted a Evo Max 13.5 by a friend who was upgrading, and I've been loving it. There's a pair of clownfish, a goby, a couple snails and a couple crabs as well. Fortunately, the tank was well-maintained and was given to me in a stable state, so I've been able to dodge a lot of the painful introductory bits (with, of course, the downside of not choosing what to place and what to stock).