High Nitrite/Nitrate - what now?

siniang

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I just tested my water and both Nitrite and Nitrate are through the roof according to my test strip. They were still perfectly fine when I tested a week ago after which I did a partial water change.

I put some Ammonia Neutralizer in and will do a 25% water change - but what else do I need to look out for? According to the test strip they were at 160-200 an 10 ;Jawdrop can they get this high in just a week?

The fish behave fine, eating, swimming, ... but I'm super worried. What symptoms do I need to look out for?

Thanks, I've never had problems with high N levels before, this is new (and I'm still learning)

OP
OP
S

siniang

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh sorry, my bad.

The tank is 5 weeks, fish in for one week. 40 gallons, two small fish (one trigger, one blenny). I'm using water provided by the local aquarium which according to people working there is good to put fish in right away and most certainly after 4 weeks running fallow.

Flippers4pups

Fins up since 1993
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I just tested my water and both Nitrite and Nitrate are through the roof according to my test strip. They were still perfectly fine when I tested a week ago after which I did a partial water change.

I put some Ammonia Neutralizer in and will do a 25% water change - but what else do I need to look out for? According to the test strip they were at 160-200 an 10 ;Jawdrop can they get this high in just a week?

The fish behave fine, eating, swimming, ... but I'm super worried. What symptoms do I need to look out for?

Thanks, I've never had problems with high N levels before, this is new (and I'm still learning)

I suspect your tank isn't fully cycled if your showing Nitrite.

Begs the questions of how old is the tank, size and bio-load?

This^.

OP
OP
S

siniang

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0