High phos, high Alk and low pH

SalinityNoob

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I’m about 3 months into a tank, 73 days actually after the cycle. So cycle plus 73 days.

I have a master Reef photometer by Hanna so I can accurately see numbers as opposed to color. I did two water changes yesterday on my IM 30 lagoon. I dosed a buffer today to bring up my pH from 7.8 and that brought me to 8.0 pH. My phos is around 0.30 and my alkalinity was around 13.

I did another 10 gallon water change tonight keeping my salinity around 1.026 and noticed my pH went down to 7.8 again with alk still remaining high.

I haven’t used kalkwasser but I bought Brightwell Aquatics Kalk+2 and am awaiting it to be delivered. Should I dose this since it’ll bring my pH up? Will I instead just keep bringing my alkalinity up with my pH rising?

I’m looking to get my levels equal, but it seems that when I bring the pH up, the alkalinity is still high. I am not sure I follow this movement yet.

I have no corals or anemones yet. My tank is comprised of 2 clowns doing just fine, one Halloween hermit, one tiger conch, one Pom Pom and about 15 Astra snails. Everyone seems happy and my Pom Pom is hosting eggs which will soon be a meal for the tank.

Should I even worry about Alk? I want it lower as I wish to dose coraline in a bottle. The instructions state you should have a lower Alk than I have with a pH higher around 8.3 if possible.

And I’m trying to get my phos down for this dosing as well. I feed some dry pellets as well as multiple frozen foods like mysis. I also have mechanical filtration I change out every 3-5 days.

Thanks, all

Chris

AC7BE2F4-E490-45BD-AAA6-458DD20F857D.jpeg 4FE57950-5B36-41F8-B7B8-0974E314FA33.jpeg 9CD998DC-C382-4B48-AC60-6AC09B5EB67A.jpeg DC7693DB-54A4-4163-AE3B-40655A3EE4FE.jpeg

Seagre

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0