HOB's & Saltwater Tanks regular maintenance

Rakkasan

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So this thread is for the few hobbyist that rely on HOBs solely to achieve their beautiful tanks.

My questions are what are you using and what does regular maintenance consist of for you?

Aside from the regular water change when are you swapping out your media bags.

What chemicals are you using? I.E. Reef Spec Carbon, chemi pure or purigen resin?

Do you rinse out your filters (coarse thru fine) weekly by weekly or monthly?

I am very new to the hobby but I have read a metric ton on what to do and not to do but it's all subjective because I can find someone who always says the opposite. So please share with me your wisdom so I dont F all this up.

Ron Reefman

Lets Go Snorkeling!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

20181215_104514.gif

I have a 16g holding tank. I started as just a few very basic corals waiting to go into my 40g DT. It has just a HOB filter with a sponge (no carbon ) and a small in tank skimmer from Tunze (I won it here at R2R). That's it!

Once the tank was cycled I just do tests once a week and add alk and Ca as needed. I did 5g water changes every week or at first. The tank has been running for about a year now and I do the 5g water change about once every 4 to 6 weeks.

The tank has no fish and I feed it very little. But it does have 6 RFA, a handful of small zoa colonies, some calcareous algae, a small serpent star, an oyster, a small common clam (not a fancy giant clam), an emerald crab, a couple of sps coral frags, a tiny RBTA, a tiny red feather duster, a small sea urchin and a small yellow sea cucumber.