Homeproject for 55 Gallon tank (peltier!!)

zcedric

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good day volk

I am pretty new and I hope to post this in the right space.
I started for 2 month ago with a new project.. which is a "peltier chiller." I tried to find lots of different option to do a DIY chiller. The only possible thing I found was "peltiers."

Why did I choose so?
- quiet
- cheap (only for me, because I have lots of resources from my company)
- small

I could do this only because I have lots of experience with electronic and automation. Please do not try to rebuild this if you have no clue from electrophysik and programing. However, qeustion are welcome and i also like to hear compliments.

This post will open a case which is not finished yet. I will post a couple picture what I have together yet. But I like to post my progress here as well.
This project is not implemented to the tank yet. I do numerous of test outside of the tank first

This is the Control Station (PLC 1200 CPU from Siemens; 12VDC-24VDC controll + 24VDC power suply + alarm lights + analog amplifier for temperatur feeler; 12 VDC power suply)

On the left topside is just the power inlet and the Ethernet inlet for comunication to my Computer.

This is my heat exchanger (4xpeltier + 4 fans with 2 cooling circle)

I am running this with a little tank of 1 gallon atm. The 4 peltiers are induvidual controlled depending what temperatur I have from the water and outside.
I can cool 1 gallon of water in ca. 1h 15min from 80F° to 55F°. Which seems not to be a lot. But I actually need to hold the water only by 76F° and not by 55F°.

I will have a ΔT of ca 2 degree, which means I would like to keep my water between 75F° and 77F°. My roomtemperatur has an avg. of 80F°. My Pumps and LED Light of the tank add ca 45W of heat.

I guess I need to get rid of ca. 80-100W of heat in my tank to keep the Temperatur stedy.