Horseshoe Crab Disease

fishguy123

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I have been raising 2 Horseshoe crabs for the last 5 years (1 is 3 yrs. old, 1 is 5 yrs. old)
They eat well, have a big tank and are usually great but the 5 yr. old has developed Green Algal disease.
His shell is turning green and splotchy, he's not eating much and moving slow. Has anyone had any luck treating this?
I have searched every post online on this subject and it seems there are no definite answers to this problem.
I would hate losing him after all this time as he is part of the family and very friendly.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
J.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone, I have been raising 2 Horseshoe crabs for the last 5 years (1 is 3 yrs. old, 1 is 5 yrs. old)
They eat well, have a big tank and are usually great but the 5 yr. old has developed Green Algal disease.
His shell is turning green and splotchy, he's not eating much and moving slow. Has anyone had any luck treating this?
I have searched every post online on this subject and it seems there are no definite answers to this problem.
I would hate losing him after all this time as he is part of the family and very friendly.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
J.

Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Horseshoe crabs can develop shell erosion issues, then algae grows on the damaged areas. The issue is that the shell itself cannot heal, only a new molt can repair the damage. Older crabs, especial males and those in captivity, begin to have a longer inter-molt period. This in turn allows for shell erosion to get a stronger foothold.
Can you post a picture?

Jay

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!

Just to add a little to Jay's comment, what have you been feeding your horseshoe crabs?

Stomatopods17

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0