How can I raise my alkalinity without raising my calcium?

34gallonSolana

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I've been running a 110 gallon for a year and 2 months now. An upgrade from a 34 gallon which a ran for over 5 years. I did get a little lazy with the maintenance after I had lost almost all but 2 fishes and all but 2 corals. I'm trying to get things going again and stay on top of it. so I have been doing 26to28 gallons of water change per week for the last 4-5 weeks to try and get phosphates to a good level. Which as of yesterday were at 0.04 compared to the day before the water change 0.06.
Calcium is now 403 which is good the day before WC it was 454.
Alkalinity is in the low 5s I can't remember if it was 5.3 or 5.6 yesterday, but the day before WC it was 5.3 so definitely need to bring it up. I'm thinking be between 8-12.

I am not dosing anything and I was not doing any testing prior.

My hammerhead & toadstool leather corals do not look happy, see attached picture, don't know if they got use to a dirty tank, lol.

So I've used all for reef in the previous tank (34g) and was thinking of using that in this one.
If I do, will it also increase the calcium?

I use Tropic Marin Pro-reef salt at 1.025.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

20231203_135511.jpg 20231203_135504.jpg

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Baking soda can be used to raise alk only. But I'd raise calcium too.

The AFR can be used in your situation. Both valuss will be fine after you use it to boost alk.

Upvote 0
OP
OP

34gallonSolana

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Baking soda can be used to raise alk only. But I'd raise calcium too.

The AFR can be used in your situation. Both valuss will be fine after you use it to boost alk.
Okay Thanks,