How do I start over successfully?

davehead86

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Long story short is that I have a mixed reef tank that went to crap. My tank got overrun with GHA, i lost half my corals in the battle, the GHA is still there and I cannot get rid of it without spending what seems like hours of time each day and hundreds of dollars a month to get rid of it. I hate looking at my tank now, and with the summer coming around and the free time it provides me (Im a teacher) I really want to just totally start over. But I have no idea where to begin with that.

I have a 65 Gallon DT ...
2 Radion G3 in a canopy
2MP 10
2 Hydor Korila for surface agitation
40 Breeder sump in the basement
K2 120 Skimmer
Eshopps 2 channel doser (dosing 2 part obviously)
BRS Carbon / GFO Reactor run by MJ1200
M1 return pump running at 35%

Ive got the equipment to be successful and I had the tank running great for 6+ months before I introduced several frags with GHA and didnt address the problem initially. I want to go back to my tank looking awesome like it did before with giant growing corals and happy fish. I just need advice on how to get there.

Current Plan ...

Buy a 40 gallon tank, put all of my fish in that tank and all of my corals in that tank and run it with the algae covered rock and some of the sand from the current tank so that I dont cause a cycle / can keep all of my fish and surviving corals.

Totally redo all of my tank setup with dry rock and brand new sand. I dont want ANY type of algae introduced into my tank again to cause these types of problems again.

Questions Im currently having ...
1. How do I ensure that i have removed all of the baddies from the old tank / setup before I start trying to get fish and rocks back into the tank?