How to Connect UV Sterilizer to Cannister Filter

AquaScaper77

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello.

I am new to the hobby, but have a lot of trouble figuring out how things work with regard to specific products and the actual set-up/plumbing. Two things are weighing on me at the moment.

1) Using lily pipes in an aquarium with a canister filter
2) Also using a uv sterilizer in an aquarium with a canister filter.

I have the Fluval fx6 canister filter for a 90 gallon rimless planted (freshwater) tank (35"x23"x24"). I just purchased some Dymax lily pipes/surface skimmer and I need to convert a one inch to 5/8 inch for the lily pipes (that's 17mm lily pipes and the fluval comes with one inch hose). The skimmer is useful I am told because of the surface agitation and then I won't need to get a powerhead.

My first problem is the specific types of fittings. I finally decided on either stainless steel or pvc material for the fittings due to having shrimp. Finding the correct measurement is more difficult, but I can order them online.

The problem now is I want to use a uv sterilizer but I am running into the problem of how to set this up with a cannister filter. The one I was looking at is the Pentair (https://pentairaes.com/smart-uv-high-output-sterilizers.html). This sterilizer if it is even possible to connect would require 2" to 1" converion for the reducers. By looking it at this, it has two inputs, hoqwcwe. How do I connect this to a canister filter along with the lily pipes? Is it even worth it? Is there a better option for a uv sterilizer. The question is what do I want to do. Protect fish from diseases and keep green algae out of water column mostly. I know there is something about flowrate with regard to the efficiency of these items.

lapin

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You will need to to get some barbs (the reducer type) and some hose clamps