How to reduce phosphates of cycling rock

Hotelbravo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been acquiring dry rock for several months preparing myself to completely redo my 180 aquascape. I have pulsing xenia and pink and gold palys smothering all my rock and I want to remove all of that rock and start over.
I have made 3 large structures with the dry rock and reef cement that I will be using to replace my tank's rock with.
The rock is has been cycling in a 100 gallon Rubbermaid trough for over a month now and the phosphates keep going to 2.50 on the Hannah phosphate checker. I think 2.50 is the max that test can see so I'm sure it's well above 2.50.. I do water changes once a week of 100%. And the ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates have all stabilized to 0. Can't lower the phosphates though.

Any tips?

OP
OP
Hotelbravo

Hotelbravo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_20170806_173348.jpg

IMG_20170806_173348.jpg

EDIT: not sure why it's posting the same picture twice. And I can't delete the second one.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
100% water changes are not the best way to export phosphate in such a setting since it does not drop phosphate to zero due to large amounts bound to the calcium carbonate surfaces of the rock that come off as soon as the level is dropped when new water is added.

Many people use lanthanum chloride for this purpose. It keeps phosphate low by continually binding it up. Then you can mostly rinse the lanthanum away when you are done.

Chitown tom

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0