How to use an optical sensor w/ APEX breakout

Discussion in 'Aquarium Controllers' started by isaacalves, Mar 1, 2018.

  1. isaacalves

    isaacalves www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/ R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    434
    Location:
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    Bob Escher likes this.

  2. MaddyP

    MaddyP 'Til Reefdom Come... R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Partner Member 2019 Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,427
    Likes Received:
    3,724
    Location:
    San Pedro, CA
    Optical sensors require a power source to feed the diode. The Apex BOB does not have a power source, it only has the ability to sense open/closed circuits. In my opinion, you have two options: buy the FMK or develop a intermediate solution with an arduino to power/sense the changes to the optical sensor then relay changes to the Apex BOB via a relay. Buying the FMK would be much easier and give you more flexibility for other modules down the line...
     
    radiata and isaacalves like this.
  3. isaacalves

    isaacalves www.instagram.com/theloneaquarist/ R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    434
    Location:
    Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
    ...ok, fine.
     
    Bob Escher likes this.
  4. Bob Escher

    Bob Escher Welcome to Saltwatef R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    Location:
    Nashotah Wisconsin
    Interest sensor I wonder how many wires it has.
     
  5. Gotfrogs

    Gotfrogs Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Dickinson, TX
    Plug a relay into the above option and the connect the relay to the BOB.
     
    Bob Escher likes this.
  6. jml1149

    jml1149 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    69
  7. ReefHog

    ReefHog Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    I tried an optical sensor in the skimmate cup and found that the foam will activate the sensor prematurely. I now run a hose from the skimmate cup to a two gallon container with the opticle sensor on that.
     
    radiata and MaddyP like this.
  8. ReefHog

    ReefHog Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    I tried an optical sensor in the skimmate cup and found that the foam will activate the sensor prematurely. I now run a hose from the skimmate cup to a two gallon container with the opticle sensor on that.
     
    jakeh22 likes this.
  9. jakeh22

    jakeh22 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    130
    Fresh
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...