Hydros Auto Feeder Help

Neptune

Schraufabagel

aka Schrauf_den
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
2,229
Reaction score
8,481
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Madison, WI
For anyone that has hydros, is it possible to create a schedule where at a set time each day, an output is turned off? I have an auto feeder set for 2 times each day, but I can't figure out how to have it turn off the outlets for the return pump and wavemaker plugged into my wi-fi power strip.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

glb

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7,834
Reaction score
3,118
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Miami
For anyone that has hydros, is it possible to create a schedule where at a set time each day, an output is turned off? I have an auto feeder set for 2 times each day, but I can't figure out how to have it turn off the outlets for the return pump and wavemaker plugged into my wi-fi power strip.
If you can swing it, an Apex aquarium controller would be a terrific addition to your tank. I saved up for mine, and it has been so worth it. It takes care of stuff like this easily.
 
OP
Schraufabagel

Schraufabagel

aka Schrauf_den
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 29, 2020
Messages
2,229
Reaction score
8,481
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Madison, WI
If you can swing it, an Apex aquarium controller would be a terrific addition to your tank. I saved up for mine, and it has been so worth it. It takes care of stuff like this easily.
I have an entire Hydros system already, so switching to Apex would be a big expense for me. I have the coralvue hydros auto feeder set on a schedule as well. Just couldn't figure out how to shut off an outlet when it runs. Seems like it requires that you have a WaveEngine controlled pump I think
 

glb

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
May 12, 2013
Messages
7,834
Reaction score
3,118
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Miami
I have an entire Hydros system already, so switching to Apex would be a big expense for me. I have the coralvue hydros auto feeder set on a schedule as well. Just couldn't figure out how to shut off an outlet when it runs. Seems like it requires that you have a WaveEngine controlled pump I think
Oh ok. I misunderstood. Didn’t realize that’s what the Hydros was. Hopefully someone will chime in to help!
 
Avast

n2585722

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,654
Reaction score
1,500
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
I slow down my MP10's when the wifi feeder dispenses. I use the output in the first screenshot below to accomplish it. The feeder output triggers it and once active it stays active for the minimum on time that is set for 30 minutes. Just use this output in the depends on section and set it to off if on. If it is a flow pump controller by schedules like mine you will have to make a schedule for feed time and use the output to trigger that schedule on and all other schedules off using depends on in the schedules. The second and third screenshots are the feed mode schedule for my flow pumps. The last two screenshots are of one of the regular schedules for the pumps.

F55FE8CD-3D1C-4A28-B38E-D1603E3740E8.png


A996E88A-9C1E-4628-A91E-C604A0905C8A.png


6949F9C4-59CE-4171-9619-79C79A63B39C.png


784812C8-4607-47C8-86A1-6733AC6FBD61.png


A6FC7EF0-CE17-479D-85F5-8D9E6BADF4F2.png
 

jrill

Well-Known Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2018
Messages
882
Reaction score
939
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Asheville NC
I have my return pump set to depends on the feeder. Off when on. Then set a minimum off time on your return pump. Pump turns off when feeder comes on then turns back on after the minimum time that was set.
 

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
Of topic but figured id ask here. I am going on vacation so just got a Hydro controller and Wifi feeder. I have been testing it and one day its working and then next day Not responding. Worst part its not even saving the schedule and dropping food. My controller is in basement where the sump is but my feeder is on the floor above. Could there be an issue here?

I have 9 large tangs that eat like pigs so can't afford no skrew ups. I have ppl in house but rather not anyone feed the fish but a auto feeder while I am gone for 8 long days
 
Click to join now!

n2585722

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,654
Reaction score
1,500
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
Of topic but figured id ask here. I am going on vacation so just got a Hydro controller and Wifi feeder. I have been testing it and one day its working and then next day Not responding. Worst part its not even saving the schedule and dropping food. My controller is in basement where the sump is but my feeder is on the floor above. Could there be an issue here?

I have 9 large tangs that eat like pigs so can't afford no skrew ups. I have ppl in house but rather not anyone feed the fish but a auto feeder while I am gone for 8 long days
Can you post screenshots of you wifi feeder output setup? You can test the possible signal issue if you move the feeder to a different location to test it. You might want to remove the food dispenser from it when doing this so it does not actually dispense food when not over the tank.
 

Ashish Patel

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 9, 2017
Messages
2,458
Reaction score
2,032
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Marlboro NJ
Can you post screenshots of you wifi feeder output setup? You can test the possible signal issue if you move the feeder to a different location to test it. You might want to remove the food dispenser from it when doing this so it does not actually dispense food when not over the tank.
Screenshot_20220514-164534.jpg
Screenshot_20220512-010005.jpg
 
Corals.com

n2585722

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2013
Messages
2,654
Reaction score
1,500
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Cedar Park, Tx
Wow that is quite a few feedings in one day. I don't see anything wrong, but just noticed your other post about wifi issues. Since the feeder is a wifi device it will have issues until your wifi issues are resolved. On mine I very rarely have a wifi issue. I do have a lot of internet issues, but that does not have much affect the controller other than cause a lot of alerts.
 
Neptune

How much of your saltwater reef tank is automated?

  • Nothing is automated

    Votes: 65 13.7%
  • 25% or so

    Votes: 146 30.9%
  • 50% or so

    Votes: 106 22.4%
  • 75% or so

    Votes: 104 22.0%
  • Close to 100%

    Votes: 49 10.4%
  • Totally Automated (we need proof)

    Votes: 3 0.6%
Reef Breeders
Top