I just found my first Aptaisa, how do I get rid of it without killing my coral?

BeachPlease

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just found my first and hopefully my only Aptaisa! It’s on a rock that I can remove from my DT but the rock hosts one of my corals (can’t remember what coral my LFS said it was) I’ve had this coral at least 4 months but it’s just now made itself known. I’ve attached some pictures. Im new in the hobby and I buy things as I go so I don’t have any treatments specific to Aptaisa. Of everything that I’ve read, that only thing I could do right now is put it in a bucket and inject it with boiling water or hydrogen peroxide. A few questions:
1) do I need a syringe with a needle (which I don’t have) Or can I just use a little 1mm dropper/syringe?
2) will either of these methods harm the coral? Because I imagine whatever I squirt on it will also get on the coral?
3) OR can I remove the coral from the rock and throw the rock away? The only tool I have that would come close to a table saw is a dremmel..I don’t suppose heavy duty pruning shears would work? lol

IMG_6236.jpeg
IMG_6238.jpeg
IMG_6240.jpeg

IMG_6236.jpeg IMG_6238.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_6246.mov
    5.4 MB
Last edited:

LiLinka

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Kalk paste it with joes juice or a similar product as soon as you can. Otherwise you will definately have more to come.

Reefkeepers Archive

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Take it out and use a chisel to break off the piece of rock its on. The other things on the rock are vermited snails, and you should either crush those or cover them with coral glue. Also the inverts in the rock are amphipods, which are beneficial detritus-eaters and are a part of most reef ecosystems. Make sure not to break the actual aiptasia itself as they can regenerate from a single cell. Toss the rock fragment the aiptasia is on. Also the coral is a gorgonian :)