Ideas on skinning a metal stand?

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I need some help with this stand. I had originally thought it would be easy when I chose to go this route but it's been months and I can't come up with any good ways. Doesn't help any that I'm not very good at diy :confused:. Now it's becoming a necessity to do something about the stand as my niece is learning to walk and it's only a matter of time before she starts trying to explore where she shouldn't :rolleyes:.
IMG_2832.JPG
IMG_2833.JPG
IMG_2835.JPG

In case you wonder about the blue tarp..... I had planned on wrapping/stapling it to some 2x4s or something to create a basin for catching drips/spills. Needless to say I didn't get there either because I haven't finished the stand.

OP
OP
GHsaltie

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Where would I find acrylic? I haven't even seen it at Home Depot or lowes weirdly enough. And is there a certain tool needed to cut it?

fishbox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Google local plastic shops or acrylic shops. Most HDs do carry it but keep it in an odd place. Mine keeps it near the screen doors. There's a special scoring knife you can use for but there's also saw blades and router bits as well if you have those power tools.

thewbell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I also used magnets on mine but I did cabinet doors with the frame held on by magnets. This way I can simply open doors to check on things or remove the entire panel for any bigger jobs.

IMG_0505.JPG

IMG_0219.JPG

OP
OP
GHsaltie

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0