IM 75EXT Stocking Plan

FishieFlashdrive

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a 75 gallon Innovative Marine EXT tank with a 30 gallon Icecap sump. I'm brand new to this, but have done tons of research as I dream about what it can be! Because I'm new, I just don't have the intrinsic sense of what is over-stocked vs. under-stocked. I'd like happy healthy fishies, but also lots of them so the tank looks full. I will add coral, softies mostly. All of this being added slowly over the next 9-ish months.

Fish:
2 clownfish
1 starry blenny
1-2 banggaii cardinalfish
1 diamond watchman goby
1 firefish
(Maybe) 1 coral beauty

Inverts:
Cerith snails (20ish)
Red legged Hermit Crabs (10ish)
Turbo snails (10ish)
1-2 Tuxedo urchin
(Maybe) pom pom crab

Obligatory Aquascape pic attached. Tank is currently cycling!
20211207_223531.jpg

davidcalgary29

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's a lightly stocked tank! I'd add ten or more banded trochus snails and a variegated urchin to your CUC. You can add urchins relatively safely at any time during your stocking process, as ich tomonts won't encyst on them. I haven't seen any studies for velvet or other diseases, though.

Are you set on your fish list, or are you open to other suggestions?

ReefSlice

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can definitely add another few fish in there. I'd recommend going with at least 2 cardinals, adding a flasher wrasse of some sort and possibly a kole tang. Other reef safe wrasses are a good option. Also make sure you have a lid when you get the firefish.

OP
OP
FishieFlashdrive

FishieFlashdrive

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's a lightly stocked tank! I'd add ten or more banded trochus snails and a variegated urchin to your CUC. You can add urchins relatively safely at any time during your stocking process, as ich tomonts won't encyst on them. I haven't seen any studies for velvet or other diseases, though.