Impossible to attach mushroom to the stone

SunSill

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello team,
I am new in reef tank hobby, got fits AIO 7 gallons tank. Cycled it, bought firts mushroom from local store.
i was trying to glue mushroom to the stone, but it work only for about 12hours. Seems that slippery mushroom surface is impossible to glue.. tried with wool- same result.
Tried with rubber dam. Maybe to much preassure, but now my coral is divided in 2 pieces..seems that band cut him..maybe try use other glue or put in where there isnt so much flow?‍
Firts photo 7pm, second 7am..
Thanks for advices

IMG_7523.jpeg IMG_7537.jpeg

reefluvrr

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
attaching a loose shroom to a rock is very difficult if you have water movement pushing the shroom of the rock.
That is why some people will put in a shroom box and let the shroom settle on some large to medium course sand/ rocks then glue the course rock to the bigger rock.

here is a youtube video of something people try:

Reefkeepers Archive

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You should not glue soft corals, the glue restricts circulation and best case scenario they just detach and worst case scenario the base will die and get infected. Agree with above comment, get a container/basket with holes in it that will let light in and layer the bottom with some rubble. The mushroom should attach in a few days. Also watch for infection, when the tissue is damaged like in yours they are prone to infection and die-off

mfinn

likes zoanthids
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Thanks for info, will check those mushroom "boxes"
Just a small plastic dish ( tupperware, empty food container, etc.) will work.