Introduction - and final setup opinions/help (Reef)

ryanr157

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
G'day R2R community,
Whilst I'm not new to fish-keeping (currently running a 2ft/17G FW Planted), I am new to SW, and now the confusion is setting in.

I have been heavily researching for months, and am almost certain on the setup, but the lighting and stocking has got me stumped.

The hardware plan: (yet to be bought/ordered)
Custom 36"L x 18"W x 26"H with Starfire front, filled to to 24", giving 66G with a 1-2" sand substrate (not LS) with approx 1.25lbs per gallon of LR
Custom 24" x 14" x 13" Sump, giving 19G total (only using 5.2G Intake, 6.3G Return, 4.1G Fuge with DSB[4"])

Sump Return Eheim Compact + 2000 @ 317GPH
Skimmer Octopus Vortex 800L @ 528GPH
Power Head 2 x Tunze Turbelle® nanostream 6055 @264GPH each
Heaters Eheim Jager 100 x 2

Total Minimum turnover ~1400GPH, max turnover 20000GPH (if all pumps are cranked to max)

I will have ATO, but will figure that out when I get a feel for evaporation.
RO/DI - I will be using RODI water - not sure if I'll be my own filter, or buy from LFS
Salt Mix - most likely will be IO Reef Crystals

I have done all the maths on overflows etc, and that'll all work fine.

My next step is trying to decide on a light fitting (hoping to go LED), which of course requires me to decide on livestock.

My end goal plan is to have:
Hard Corals - candy cane & frogspawn appeal
Soft Corals - Pulsing Xenia, Ricordia and Zoanthids all appeal
Anemones - BTA? (I know that not all anemones will play nice with coral)
CUC - shrimp, sea cucumber, snails? (I think hermits are out, most advice tends toward them not being nice with corals)
Fish - here's the hard bit, they have to be reef friendly, and play nice together. So far I'm leaning toward:
Pair of clowns (gotta have Nemo for the nephews),
Pyjamma or Banggai Cardinal [or both?]
Wrasse (6 line or White Belly)
Yellow Tang (would love others, but tank will be too small)