Is kalk enough?

Fishingandreefing

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
All, I have been dosing kalk (5 tsp) per 5g bucket via ATO for almost two years. I have been testing my parameters lately, it’s pretty stable: alk around 8.5, cal around 430 but mag is always high at around 1450-1480.

I feel dosing via ATO is not stable as temperature/season various on evaporations.

I am also dosing acropower and are there any recommended trace elements I should dose?

tank is currently high in phosphate (.35) and everything else are ok. One minim colony bonsai acro and lepto is receding.

suggestions are welcomed!

37831001-CE4B-4BEB-935C-635772CE934A.jpeg

YumaMan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is that a picture of your reef tank using just KALK in the ATO? I'd say you could teach a lot of us how to manage our reefs better. Congratulations on your success to date. I don't like to oversimplify, but when I learn of someone succeeding using simple reef husbandry it is very encouraging -- our hobby needs such posts, thanks for writing.

Halal Hotdog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So there are a few ways to continue what you are doing in away where evaporation can be compensated for.

One way is to change kalk dosage based on level of evaporation. For example if you are comfortable with 5 tsp in 5 gallons with evaporation at the rate of 5 gallons every 5 days. If evaporation increases to 5 gallons every 4 days then you would have to decrease kalk dosage by 20%. If evaporation decreases to 5 gallons every 6 days then you have to increase kalk dosage by 20% (may have to add weak acid to make sure no saturation issues). This way can work but have to monitor it closely.